Life in Balance

Through this online art blog/gallery we can encourage, inspire and share hope with one another…We invite who you to share your “NAPS” (News, Art ,Poetry, Songs) or inspirations. Email info@edoyr.com if you would like to share inspirations. Please note we can not post advice with regards to nutrition and exercise.

recovery network: Toronto – “I am learning to feel alive”

Leave a comment

This blog post talks about grief, particularly, a meditation which allowed a woman to connect with her emotions and open her heart to feel again…

I have no memories of loving my parents.  They were good people, they provided well for the seven of us, but I was not able to grieve when they died.  What probably happened when I was a toddler was simply a moment of convergence of my own emotional fragility and my mother’s.  She threatened to leave the family, I was barely as tall as the kitchen table; my natural love and connection to her was suddenly too dangerous for the toddler, I went numb and I have never fully recovered.  Friendships, of which I have been always blessed, have always been cerebral.  Intimate relationships were miserable failures as I always had to go physically and emotionally numb, possibly and probably to protect myself from any partner, any friend inevitably leaving me.  Various forms of therapy, meditation, Al-Anon, teaching young children, friendships, the piano, favourite authors, travels, an innate movement towards health,  have been among the “stuff” that have kept me relatively sane.

Read the rest of the blog article here

Leave a Reply

