Life in Balance

Through this online art blog/gallery we can encourage, inspire and share hope with one another…We invite who you to share your “NAPS” (News, Art ,Poetry, Songs) or inspirations. Email info@edoyr.com if you would like to share inspirations. Please note we can not post advice with regards to nutrition and exercise.

EDAW Day 3: Affirmations

Leave a comment

Hey All! It’s Michelle here from the Faces of Recovery. I would like to share one of my strategies that I used in my earlier stages of recovery to develop resilience. They’re called affirmations.

affirmation 1

 

Basically they’re positive reminders that I can use when I’m not feeling my best. In my case, I have lots of little messages from my friends reminding me of all the positive things that I have going for me in my life. In my earlier stages of recovery, I had my friends write me positive messages because I felt that it was to difficult to write myself positive messages.

affirmation 2.jpg

 

I stuck these all around my room and in my bathroom, so that whenever I looked up, I’d remember that I have a lot of good things going for me (including having some wonderful friends who cared enough to write me all of the messages in the first place!). The positive messages would be stuck in my mind without even having to do the work of thinking them up.

Riana's Art

Little by little as I continued on my path to wellness, I was able to write positive messages for myself. Not long after that, I started internalizing the positive messages. Now I’m at a place where I can combat negative self-talk with positive self-talk, and I don’t even need to look at the affirmations to do it! Using affirmations is a great step in combatting negative self talk. Give it a try yourself!

Leave a Reply

